SBS Sport host and broadcaster Megan Hustwaite facilitated the 2021 Sports Awards ceremony. 

2021 Norm Smith Medallist and Melbourne Football Club midfielder Christian Petracca was a guest speaker. 

Boroondara Sports Awards winners

Winners and finalists

Inclusive Club of the Year finalists

  • Old Xaverians Athletic Club (winner)
  • Camberwell Hockey Club
  • North Balwyn Bowls Club

The Old Xaverians Athletic Club has partnered with Inclusive Sports Training to welcome athletes of all abilities, genders and ages across its programs. The club has 30 members with a disability who train and play alongside other athletes in state competitions.

Innovative Club of the Year finalists

  • Camberwell Hockey Club (winner)
  • Kiki Dance Collective (HCYC)
  • Burwood Uniting Canterbury Cricket Club 

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Camberwell Hockey Club developed a variety of online and social media campaigns to connect with members and offer mental-health support services.

Collaborative Club of the Year finalists

  • North Balwyn Bowls Club (winner)
  • Kew Croquet Club
  • Camberwell Hockey Club

The North Balwyn Bowls Club has a great history of bringing the community together to make use of their facilities. This includes students from North Balwyn High School learning how to play lawn bowls and local community groups, such as Probus and The Men’s Shed, hiring areas on a weekly basis.

Young Club Person of the Year finalists

  • Hawthorn Citizens Youth Club Amy Marinov (winner)
  • Boroondara Eagles Football Club – Adam Bridges
  • Camberwell Hockey Club – Angus Oldham

When members were unable to attend calisthenics classes during lockdown, 17-year-old Amy took the initiative to create a virtual concert that allowed members to perform. 

Club Person of the Year finalists

  • Hawthorn Kiwi Rugby Union Football Club – Mark Russell (winner)
  • Victoria Park Tennis Club – Lyn Withers
  • St Mary's Salesian Amateur Football Club – Peter Lemen

Mark has been recognised for his outstanding commitment to growing the club and his support of its volunteers, particularly after the club was hit with many challenges during COVID-19.

Lifetime Achievement Award finalists

  • Camberwell Lacrosse Club – Doug Fox (winner)
  • Melbourne Deaf Cricket Club – Peter McCormick
  • Camberwell Hockey Club – Peter PC Collins (Given posthumously)

Doug has displayed an incredible commitment to the club for over 50 years and boasts an impressive participation and volunteer record. His drive and passion has allowed Camberwell Lacrosse Club to prosper and become one of Australia’s leading clubs. 

Was this page helpful?