The annual Boroondara Sports Awards celebrate the contribution that local sport clubs, volunteers and athletes make to our community.

The 2023 Sports Awards Ceremony was hosted for a second year by Australian cricket legend Damien Fleming.

Damien also facilitated a panel conversation with North Melbourne AFLW player Kim Rennie, Australian cricketer Rhiann O’Donnell and Ambassador for Blind Sport and Recreation Victoria, Robert Fletcher.

A man at a lectern microphone looks at 2 people seated on the stage


In 2023, we received more than 50 award nominations across 7 different categories from 33 sports clubs across Boroondara.

Congratulations to the finalists and winners!

Inclusive Club of the Year finalists

  • Hawthorn Tennis Club (winner)
  • Hawthorn Cricket Club
  • Camberwell Hockey Club.

Supported by a grant from Tennis Victoria, Hawthorn Tennis Club was awarded for establishing a Friday night social tennis for the LGBTQIA+ community. The club’s focus has been on creating a welcoming and safe environment for everyone to play tennis and socialise.

Innovative Club of the Year finalists

  • Deepdene Bears Cricket Club (winner)
  • Burwood Cricket Club 
  • Swinburne Futsal Club.

Deepdene Bears Cricket Club was recognised for its ‘Big 6’ event held in February 2023. The event was held at Stradbroke Park in Kew and was open to all junior players, no matter what club they played for.

Collaborative Club of the Year finalists

  • Burwood Cricket Club (winner)
  • Camberwell Petanque Club
  • St Mary’s Salesian Amateur Football Club.

Burwood Cricket Club was awarded for its collaboration with the YMCA Ashburton Pool and Recreation Centre. The club made the decision to move away from fast food vouchers as certificates of the day and provide their junior members with a healthier alternative.

Community Athlete of the Year (new category) finalists

  • Camberwell Hockey Club – Liam Henderson (winner)

Liam's hockey journey began at the age of four at Camberwell Hockey Club. Liam was recognised for not only his exceptional hockey, but also his natural leadership qualities, dedication, discipline, and perseverance.

  • Kew Little Athletics Club – Tom Roach (winner)

Tom was awarded for his ongoing contribution to Kew Little athletics, where he is a popular and active member. Tom is a para-athlete who works hard to not let his physical disability limit him.

  • Ellipsis Ultimate Club – Tom Tullet

Club Person of the Year finalists

  • Titans Junior Basketball Club – Hannah Lowe (winner)
  • Balwyn Park Tennis Club – Ravi Garg
  • Camberwell Junction Tennis Club – Nicole Lindeman
  • Camberwell Petanque Club – Wayne Adams
  • Kew Croquet Club – Chris Fraser.

Hannah has played local basketball in Boroondara for more than 15 years. In that time she has created beginner programs, holiday camps and invested in talent pathways to help local youth pursue their passion. Hannah was awarded for her tireless work in organising training, coaches, grading and general advocacy for her teams at league level.

Young Club Person of the Year finalists

  • Auburn South Auskick – Nick Levin (winner)
  • Boroondara Hawks Junior Football Club – James Amalfi
  • Boroondara Hawks Junior Football Club – Julian Gangi
  • Ellipsis Ultimate Club – Lucy Deller
  • Camberwell Hockey Club – Emmy Nottle.

18-year-old Nick was awarded for his ongoing contribution to Auburn South Auskick, where he has volunteered of his own accord since 2021. In that time Nick has earned the respect of all his fellow volunteers and is much loved by all the kids he coaches due to his fun and engaging approach.

Lifetime achievement

Awarded to club members who have had a significant impact on the development of a sports club in the City of Boroondara for over 25 years.

  • Ashburton Uniting Church Tennis Club – Trevor Smyth
  • Burwood Cricket Club – Malcolm Fielden
  • Burwood District Cricket Club – Adrian Reus
  • Camberwell Hockey Club – Terry Ryan
  • Deepdene Tennis Club – Warwick Honeycombe
  • Hawthorn Community and Youth Club – Sam Coffa
  • Deepdene Bears Cricket Club – James Paterson
  • Kew City Bowmen – Rob McKenzie
  • Koonung Heights Cricket Club – Michael Whitehead.
12 people hold small plaques next to the mayor in her mayoral necklace

2024 Awards nominations

Nominations for the 2024 Boroondara Sports Awards will open in early 2024.

Was this page helpful?