Coronavirus update 13 March 2020

Coronavirus (COVID-19): guidance and support.

We visit secondary schools twice a year to immunise year 7 and 10 school students as part of the National Immunisation Program Schedule

These are the schools we visit:


  • Balwyn High School
  • Belmore School
  • Fintona Girls School


  • Camberwell Grammar School
  • Camberwell High School
  • Camberwell Girls Grammar School
  • Siena College


  • Canterbury Girls Secondary College
  • Strathcona Baptist Girls Grammar School


  • Alia College
  • Auburn High School
  • Bialik College
  • Rossbourne School
  • Scotch College


    • Burke Hall - Xavier College
    • Carey Baptist Grammar School
    • Genazzano FCJ College
    • Giant Steps Melbourne
    • Kew High School
    • Methodist Ladies College
    • Preshil School
    • Ruyton Girls School
    • St Paul’s College
    • Trinity Grammar School
    • Xavier College


    Vaccines are administered for the following diseases:

    Disease Vaccine
    Human papillomavirus (Year 7) Gardasil9 (two-dose course)
    Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis (Year 7)  Boostrix (single dose)
    Meningococcal ACWY (year 10) Nimenrix  (single dose) – commencing 1 April 2019


    This is a free program. Non Medicare cardholders are also eligible for these free vaccines.

    How it works

    The schools issue parents or guardians with information about the visits, including consent cards, at the beginning of the school year. If you don't receive this information, contact your school. You can also download these consent forms form the Immune Hero website. Consent forms and disease information are also available in the other languages.

    Make sure you return your consent card even if your child isn't going to be vaccinated. This helps to monitor and protect against these diseases.

    If your child is absent on an immunisation day, we'll send you an SMS (text) about how you can catch up on the missed dose by visiting one of our public immunisation sessions or your GP. If you have the dose administered elsewhere, make sure you let us know so we can update your child's record.

    For more information, call 9278 4711 or email Immunisation Services.

    Free adolescent meningococcal ACWY vaccine program

    From April 1 2019, a free meningococcal ACWY (Nimenrix®) vaccine program on the National Immunisation Program is available for:

    • Year 10 students in secondary school
    • Young people aged 15 to 19 years of age.

    Young people who have not already received the meningococcal ACWY (Menactra®) vaccine in school or in the community in the last two years, can be vaccinated by Council or your local GP.  

    See all Council immunisation sessions.

    How useful was this information?