Boroondara Sports Awards 2021

SBS Sport host and broadcaster Megan Hustwaite facilitated the awards ceremony and 2021 Norm Smith Medallist and Melbourne Football Club midfielder Christian Petracca was a guest speaker. 

Boroondara Sports Awards winners


Inclusive Club of the Year

Old Xaverians Athletic Club

The Old Xaverians Athletic Club has partnered with Inclusive Sports Training to welcome athletes of all abilities, genders and ages across its programs. The Club has 30 members with a disability who train and play alongside other athletes in state competitions.

Innovative Club of the Year

Camberwell Hockey Club 

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Camberwell Hockey Club developed a variety of online and social media campaigns to connect with members and offer mental-health support services.

Collaborative Club of the Year

North Balwyn Bowls Club 

The North Balwyn Bowls Club has a great history of bringing the community together to make use of their facilities. This includes students from North Balwyn High School learning how to play lawn bowls and local community groups, such as Probus and The Men’s Shed, hiring areas on a weekly basis.

Young Club Person of the Year

Amy Marinov from Hawthorn Citizens’ Youth Club

When members were unable to attend calisthenics classes during lockdown, 17-year-old Amy took the initiative to create a virtual concert that allowed members to perform. 

Club Person of the Year

Mark Russell from Kiwi Hawthorn Rugby Union Club

Mark has been recognised for his outstanding commitment to growing the club and his support of its volunteers, particularly after the club was hit with many challenges during COVID-19.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Doug Fox from Camberwell Lacrosse Club 

Doug has displayed an incredible commitment to the club for over 50 years and boasts an impressive participation and volunteer record. His drive and passion has allowed Camberwell Lacrosse Club to prosper and become one of Australia’s leading clubs. 

Was this page helpful?