Coronavirus update 13 March 2020

COVID-19 restrictions: what's closed and what's open.

2020 election results

The Victorian Electoral Commission has declared the results of the 2020 Council election. For more information, please see Mayor and councillors.

Council Election 2020

The Boroondara City Council election will be held this October.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is preparing to deliver local council elections during the extraordinary circumstances of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Elections are to be conducted entirely by post - a safe and completely secret method of voting.

Local council general elections are held every 4 years and councillors make decisions on a range of important local issues and services, including:

  • maternal health and childcare
  • sporting and recreation facilities
  • libraries and community centres
  • animal registrations
  • rubbish and recycling
  • planning and building regulations
  • local roads and footpaths

We strongly encourage all eligible voters to vote this October. Voting is compulsory for State-enrolled Australian citizens aged 18 years or older, and you may be fined if you don’t vote.

Election timeline

  • Friday 28 August: roll closes at 4 pm
  • Thursday 17 September: candidate nominations open
  • Tuesday 22 September: candidate nominations close at 12 noon
  • Tuesday 6 to Thursday 8 October: mail-out of ballot packs
  • Friday 23 October: voting closes at 6 pm
  • Friday 13 November: latest date all results will be declared


Ballot packs will be mailed to enrolled voters between Tuesday 6 October and Thursday 8 October 2020. If you don’t receive your ballot pack by Friday 16 October 2020, call the election office on 8619 1408 for a replacement.

To complete your vote, follow the instructions on your ballot pack. Your completed ballot pack must be in the mail by 6 pm on Friday 23 October 2020. Local mail clearance times vary. Ballot packs must be mailed before final clearance times in the last week of voting. Completed ballot material can also be hand delivered before close of voting to the election office which is located at Ground Floor, Building C1, 192 Burwood Road, Hawthorn. 

View the 2020 Boroondara City Council election candidates.

State-enrolled voters can sign up for election SMS and email reminders via the Victorian Electoral Commission’s free VoterAlert service.  

For more information on voting in this election, visit the VEC website.

2020 election candidates

View the 2020 Boroondara City Council election candidates.

New electoral boundaries and ward

There will be a change to Boroondara’s electoral structure from this year’s election, with 11 Councillors to be elected from 11 single member wards. 

You will receive information from the VEC about the ward your property is located in when they distribute voting materials. 

To view the new ward boundaries please see the map below provided by VEC.

To view individual wards see Download individual ward maps.

Download map of Boroondara ward boundaries

Information for election candidates

If you want to run as a candidate in the 2020 Boroondara City Council election, read Information for election candidates.

This page includes important information about the:

  • new mandatory candidate training which must be completed prior to nominating; and
  • Victorian Electoral Commission’s on-line candidate information session and upcoming state-wide interactive candidate seminars.

Election information

The Victorian Electoral Commission conduct elections on behalf of all Victorian councils. 

Visit Boroondara City Council election on the VEC website for detailed and up-to-date information, including how to:

  • enrol as a voter
  • vote
  • become a candidate

Alternatively, call the VEC on 131 832.

If you have any queries please contact us on 9278 4471.

Election Period Policy

The election period commences at midday on Tuesday 22 September 2020 and finishes at 6 pm on election day, Saturday 24 October 2020.

Council's Election Period Policy ensures the Boroondara City Council general election, and subsequent elections, are conducted in a manner that is ethical, fair and equitable and are publicly perceived as such. The policy is included within the Governance Rules.

This Policy deals with issues such as:

  • decisions which will and will not be made by Council during the election period
  • public consultation requirements
  • how Council resources will be used
  • what assistance will be provided to candidates
  • what media (including social media) arrangements are made during the election period

Download the Governance rules (including election period policy)

Advertising signage during the election period

Please note the Election Period Policy specifies that candidates and their supporters are not permitted to affix, attach or place advertising signs on Council controlled land or a Council road during election campaigns including during the election period. 

For more information, please see our Information for election candidates page.

How useful was this information?