Urban Design Awards winning buildings

Held every 2 years, the Boroondara Urban Design Awards recognise and celebrate high-quality architecture and excellent design that enhances and elevates our streetscapes and public environment, from heritage extensions to multi-dwelling developments, new schools or business centres.

The Urban Design Awards aim to:

  1. promote excellence in urban design and celebrate high-quality, exemplary architecture that enriches Boroondara’s character
  2. increase the community’s awareness of the benefits of good urban design and the positive contribution it makes to our public environment
  3. advocate for sustainability to be at the heart of any future development and at the forefront of design thinking in our city for the benefit of current and future generations.

2023 winners

Following a break during the pandemic, the Boroondara Urban Design Awards returned in 2023. Winners were announced in 6 categories: 

  1. Best heritage extensions, additions, and alterations.
  2. Best small-scale residential development.
  3. Best medium-scale multi-dwelling residential development.
  4. Best non-residential development.
  5. Best apartment or mixed-use development.
  6. Best sustainable design – this new award recognises architecture that is built to last, saves energy resources and minimises impact on the environment.

Find out more

Past winners


Projects were assessed in 4 categories against a set of criteria including good fit for context, excellence in design, robustness, access, sustainability, and landscape.

See winners and commendations on our 2018 Boroondara Urban Design Awards page.

Was this page helpful?