Some of our services are impacted due to COVID-19.

The Boroondara Literary Awards 2021 judging panel is comprised of award-winning writers Chloe Hooper, Leanne Hall and Nam Le.

Open Short Story – Chloe Hooper

Chloe Hooper is a novelist and non-fiction writer. Her first novel, A Child’s Book of True Crime, became a New York Times Notable Book, and was short-listed for the Orange Prize. Her non-fiction, including The Tall Man and The Arsonist: A Mind on Fire have won many literary awards and been widely published internationally.

A woman in a black jumper

Young Writers Prose – Leanne Hall

Leanne Hall is an author of young adult and children’s fiction. Her debut YA novel, This Is Shyness, won the Text Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Writing, and her novel for younger readers, Iris and the Tiger, won the Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature at the 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Her latest YA novel is The Gaps. Leanne works as a children’s and YA specialist at an independent bookshop.

A smiling woman in a lilac top

Young Writers Poetry – Nam Le

Nam Le’s first book, The Boat, was translated into 15 languages and received over a dozen major awards in Australia, America and Europe, including the PEN/Malamud Award, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Australian Prime Minister's Literary Award. The Boat has been republished as a modern classic and its stories internationally anthologised, adapted and taught. In 2019, Le published On David Malouf as part of Black Inc's "Writers on Writers' series.

A man in front of a blurred-out background
How useful was this information?