The 2017 Boroondara Citizen of the Year Awards were announced at the Boroondara Australia Day citizenship ceremony at the Hawthorn Arts Centre on Thursday 26 January 2017. Five Boroondara citizens were honoured for their contribution to the community:

  • Citizen of the Year (joint recipients): Jan Dimmick, Graham Foard and Gwenda Foard
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Lauren Gregory
  • Volunteer of the Year: Rosemary Chapple

In addition to the five winners, Jean Sloman and Barbara French received special commendations for the length of their community service.

Councillor Phillip Healey, Mayor of Boroondara, said that this year selecting the winners was particularly challenging with a record number of nominees, all contributing significantly to the community and improving the quality of life for others in Boroondara.

“On behalf of the Boroondara community, I would like to thank all the nominees and particularly our award winners for giving so tirelessly. We are proud of them. They provide us with a shining example of how we can all have a positive and lasting impact in our community,” Cr Healey said.

Contact us

For more information email Tricia Tjondropuro, Communications Business Partner.
Phone: 9278 4423