Nominations are now open for the 2023 Boroondara Urban Design Awards.

Whether you’re an architect, builder, homeowner, local business, or a community member, you can nominate an outstanding new building in Boroondara for one of the awards.

The Urban Design Awards recognise exceptional builds that elevate our streetscapes and environment, from heritage extensions to multi-dwelling developments, new schools, or businesses.

Urban design in Boroondara celebrates our distinguishing characteristics that create a unique sense of place and identity, including:

  • distinctive heritage
  • leafy streetscapes
  • vibrant shopping strips, culture, and community.

We want to recognise the high-quality architecture and excellent designs that make Boroondara great!

New award for Best sustainable design

The new best sustainable design award recognises our community’s interest in protecting the environment and meets a commitment in our Climate Action Plan to consider the environment in all decision-making, including when designing buildings.

The award emphasises architecture that can be a model for future development, as it is:

  • built to last
  • saves energy resources
  • minimises impact on the environment.

What buildings qualify?

Buildings qualify if they were completed in the past 4 years and had a Planning Permit issued by City of Boroondara. If you’re unsure if a building has had a Planning Permit from us, we encourage you to submit the nomination, and we will check this for you.

The 6 award categories are:

  • best heritage extension, addition, or alteration
  • best small-scale residential development
  • best medium-scale multi-dwelling residential development
  • best non-residential development
  • best apartment or mixed-use development
  • best sustainable design.

How to nominate a building

To nominate a building for an Urban Design Award, make sure to read through our Boroondara Urban Design Awards page and Urban Design Awards Terms and Conditions page.

Then you can complete our online Urban Design Awards 2023 Nomination form-external site.

Nominations close at 5 pm on Friday 28 April.