Some of our services are closed or have different hours on the public holiday before the AFL Grand Final – Fri 29 Sept 2023

Cr Felicity Sinfield (Cotham Ward) has been elected 15th Mayor of the City of Boroondara for the 2022-23 Council year at a live-streamed Council meeting on Thursday 8 December 2022. Cr Lisa Hollingsworth (Lynden Ward) has been elected Deputy Mayor.

As Mayor, Cr Sinfield (pictured above right, with Cr Hollingsworth) is looking forward to seeing the implementation of Council’s major projects, including $79m in renewed and new facilities to better meet the needs of the community and deliver a significant boost to the local economy.

Some exciting developments include:

  • the opening of the new community precinct in Canterbury
  • upgrades to sporting pavilions and the Kew Library
  • the revitalisation of several local shopping and dining precincts.

The newly elected Mayor shared her view of the year ahead: “It will be an exciting year for Boroondara, as we bring to life plans and policies developed in collaboration with our community who have told us what is most important to them. This includes our ongoing commitment to the environment; protecting our heritage; supporting our local economy; caring for and increasing our trees and open spaces; and delivering the services that support us all to be healthy and fulfilled.” 

“I thank [outgoing Mayor] Cr Jane Addis, whose leadership over the last twelve months has been a calming presence for our community while we navigated difficult circumstances [as we recover from the impact of the COVID pandemic],” said Cr Felicity Sinfield.

The new Mayor welcomes Council’s new 2022-23 Committee Chairs:

  • Cr Nick Stavrou, Chair of the Urban Planning Delegated Committee 
  • Cr Di Gillies, Chair of the Services Delegated Committee

More information

To find out more, you can view our media release or call our Media and Advocacy Specialist Eren Cakmakkaya on 0481 912 411.