Literary award winners announced

More than 1200 local writers shared their stories in the 23rd annual Boroondara Literary Awards.

The winners were announced in a digital ceremony in late November, with Mayor Cr Jane Addis noting the high quality of the 1,282 entries and the creative talent within our community.

“The stories and poems submitted this year are exceptional and demonstrate not only the culture of literacy within our community but also the breadth of talent and creativity,” she said.

Three judges were engaged to select the 2021 winners and highly commended entries: Chloe Hooper for the Open Short Story; Nam Le for Young Writers’ Poetry; and Leanne Hall for Young Writers’ Prose. The winners shared more than $8,000 in prize money.

Sophie Matthiesson won the Open Short Story Competition for Dead Heifers, set in the aftermath of a bushfire, while Linda Judge won the honorary Keith Carroll Award for Scrub Crawl.

Cr Addis thanked the Rotary Club of Balwyn for its support of the Literary Awards, along with the local schools and writers who participated in this year’s Writers in Schools Program.

2021 Boroondara Literary Award winners

Open Short Story Competition

Sophie Matthiesson, Dead Heifers

Keith Carroll Award

Linda Judge, Scrub Crawl

Young Writers’ Competition: Prose

  • Junior prose category: Annalisa Chen, Everything has a Price
  • Middle prose category: Rosa Toon, Stonewall
  • Senior prose category: Angelina Liu, Whale

Young Writers’ Competition: Poetry

  • Junior poetry category: Joel Hu, The Wall
  • Middle poetry category: Hazel Angelucci, Green Grove
  • Senior poetry category: Marcus Peeters-Williams, Let Me Kiss You, Daddy Stalin

The winners and highly commended entries of the 2021 Literary Awards have been published in the 2021 Boroondara Literary Awards Anthology, which is available to borrow and buy through Council libraries.

To view the full list of winners and the highly commended entries for each category, visit our 2021 Boroondara Literary Awards page.