Last month we witnessed community democracy in action as the ratepayers of the City of Boroondara elected those people who will represent them for the next four-year council term.

I am delighted to have been elected Mayor for the next 12 months and I am looking forward to working with your elected councillors over the next four years to protect the things we all value and to continue to deliver a vibrant and inclusive community.

Our councillors form a talented group of people who all have one thing in common – a love for their community and a desire to work hard to see it thrive.

I welcome back those councillors who have been returned for another term – Cr Jim Parke who will represent Bellevue ward, Cr Coral Ross (Gardiner ward), Cr Steve Hurd (Glenferrie ward), Cr Jack Wegman (Junction ward) and Cr Jane Addis (Maling ward).

I’m also delighted to welcome our new councillors – Cr Felicity Sinfield (Cotham ward), Cr Lisa Hollingsworth (Lynden ward), Cr Cynthia Watson (Maranoa ward) and Cr Garry Thompson (Solway ward).

It is well-recognised that local government is the tier of government closest to the electors and the tier where those elected are drawn from their local community and have the greatest chance to have an impact on it. We have a diversity of backgrounds and skills available to pursue an important agenda for the community.

I look forward to working with my fellow councillors for our community over the next four years.

Cr Phillip Healey

Boroondara Mayoral Blog