Winners of the 2014 awards will be announced on Friday 28 November.

Founded in 1999, the Boroondara Literary Awards is a partnership between the Rotary Club of Balwyn and the City of Boroondara.

The awards offer the chance to receive cash prizes in two sections. A prize pool of over $7,500 is available across various age groups in the Young Writers section, with almost $4,500 available in the Open Short Story section.

Winning entries will be published in the annual anthology Word You Up.

This year’s literary awards featured a special set of awards for entries with the theme of Courage in Adversity. We sought works that commemorate Australia’s involvement at Gallipoli, and other battles and campaigns of World War I.

The 2014 Judges

  • Toni Jordan - Open Short Story
  • Lili Wilkinson - Young Writers Prose
  • Emilie Zoey Baker - Young Writers Poetry

Entries will re-open on Monday 4 May 2015.


    For more information

    Contact the Literary Awards Coordinator on 9278 4036 or email .